F.0
Employed Persons by Sector
F.1
Workforce by Sectors
F.2a
Workforce by Sectors
F.2b
Workforce by Sectors
F.7a
Population by Employment Classification and Gender
F.7b
Population by Employment Classification and Gender
F.8a
Agricultural Worker Population
F.8b
Agricultural Worker Population
F.9
Employees and Their Families
F.10
Employment by Sector, Branches and Cantons
F.11a
Employment by Sector, Branches and Gender (Zürich)
F.12
Employed Population by Sectors, Branches, Gender and Home (Zürich)
F.13
Companies and Employment by Sector, Class and Gender
F.14a
Entry and Residence Permits to Foreign Workers
F.14b
Residence Permits to Foreign Workers
F.14c
Residence Permits to Foreign Workers by Gender
F.15a
Foreign Resident Population by Country of Origin
F.15b
Foreign Resident Population by Gender and Martial Status
F.15c
Foreign Resident Population with Residence and Settlement Permits
F.16a
Foreign Workers by Categories of Residence
F.16b
Foreign Workers by Categories of Residence and Gender
F.17a
Male Foreign Workers by Categories of Residence and Sector
F.17b
Female Foreign Workers by Categories of Residence and Sector
F.17c
Foreign Workers by Categories of Residence and Sector
F.17d
Foreign Workers by Sector, Type of Residence Permit and Nationality
F.17e
Foreigners by Canton
F.17f
Foreign Workers by Canton and Type of Residence Permits
F.18a
Job Seekers and Unemployment Rate by gender, 1913-1995 (annual averages)
F.19
Job Seekers by Sector
F.20a
Job Seekers by Canton
F.20b
Job Seekers by City
F.20c
Job Seekers (Cities)
F.21a
Public Unemployment Insurance: Membership
F.21b
Other Unemployment Insurances: Membership
F.23a
Male and Female Job Seekers, Open Jobs and Placements ( Zurich)
F.23b
Job Seekers (Zürich)
F.24
Industries of the Second and Tertiary Sector: Working Hours
F.26a
Working Hours in Manufacturing Companies
F.29a
Employees, Weekly and Annual Worktime
F.29b
Actual Annual Work Volume
F.30
Full-time Equivalents by Industry and Sectors
F.31
Employment by Canton
F.32
Weekly Working Hours by Sector and Industry
F.33
Full-time Equivalents in Industry and Services

F

1800
2009

Occupation

Introduction

Labor force by trade

Trade and employment statistics have been an integral part of the Swiss census since 1860, and data relating to trade affiliation, i. e. the social structure of employees and their dependents, exists since the 1888 census. It is, however, impossible to compile homogenous time series at the line of business level covering the years 1860 to 1980. (The results of the 1990 census were not yet available at the time of completion of this chapter). In truth, each individual census significantly varies from its predecessor, which greatly increases the difficulty of comparisons between censuses. In addition, the quality of the data from earlier censuses leaves much to be desired. For this reason, the 1860 census should only be interpreted with utmost caution, and substantial reservations, at least, are in order for the 1870 census. This is already evident in the opening commentary to the 1880 employment statistics, which, among other observations, complains that the 1860 and 1870 census takers had been burdened with too many ancillary tasks – in 1860 they were ordered to perform a count of rifles and in 1870 one of businesses. The 1880 census, too, had serious omissions and a plethora of ambiguous descriptions “on the majority of the forms of this vast counting venture,” so that in April 1881 the Swiss Department of the Interior decided, “that return be arranged by the canton governments of all census forms containing such ambiguities and omissions to the appropriate census taker for the purpose of completion, with a detailed notice of the omitted in each case. In addition, each canton was provided a list of returned forms, with each form having a list of the omissions to its completion attached to it; there were detailed records of all returned materials, for unless the three census volumes remain unwritten, all proper census data had to be recovered and accounted for. This did indeed happen, though by far not all ambiguities and omissions had been resolved, partly because the census takers were unable to ascertain the required information from certain people.” (Statistical delivery [“Statistische Lieferung” / “Livraison statistique”] No. 59: 1880 Census, Vol. 3, p. III–XIV).

These complaints did not fail to have an impact: There was a substantial quality increase in general census results between 1880 and 1888 which applied to the employment statistics as well. However, the counts from 1888–1960 still fall short in several areas. This problem is addressed in the introduction to the third volume of the 1888 census, which covers the topic “population by trade” as follows: “Experts have long known the presentation of the population’ s employment condition as the most complex part of a census, and its results as the least complete. Those familiar and well known problems again surfaced in the current census and, despite all efforts, could not be completely overcome.
These problems mainly consist of the fact that the pertaining terminology describing occupation and occupational activities in general and often that of specific occupations, does not describe them precisely and with enough differentiation from similar areas; that many of those terms have border areas, often of substantial size, whose belonging to the term in question remains uncertain. This inevitably leads to ambiguity and uncertainty, starting with the recording of occupations on the census forms and their statistical compilation, which may impact the comparability of results or even put them in question altogether – and this applies not only to statistics from different countries, but even to compilations from a single country if the date originates from different times and different tallies.”

Nonetheless, the Office felt compelled to energetically counter the criticism of certain municipal governments on the “characteristics and usefulness of the figures arrived at”: “The experience gained by the Statistical Office during its comprehensive preparations did not indicate that occupation data on the forms would be complete and error-free by any means, but, in general, neither can this data be considered unsatisfactory; in general, it was better and better suited for detailed analysis than any data from any prior census. The goals of this census, and what had been expected from it, has been fulfilled for the most part. The primary task for the future will be to achieve the same in a simpler, more reliable manner, and thus one less cumbersome for all concerned.” (Statistical Delivery No. 97: 1888 Census, Vol. 3, p. 3*–11*).

Even today such a differentiated and well measured contemplation is surely quite supportable. But the resolution to design future tallies not only more simply but also more reliably, proclaimed in the closing sentence, ignored the dynamics of the structural changes which trades became subjected to in the late 19th and early 20th century. For the 1900 census, the Federal Statistical Office dropped the system of economic classification that the 1888 census was based on and replaced it with a more complex version. This happened again for the 1910 and 1920 census.
Viewed from the perspective of the late 20th century, the counts of 1870 and 1880 and those of 1920 to 1960 appear the most comparable among themselves. The most important changes in the counting methodologies occurred between 1880 and 1888, 1888 and 1900, 1900 and 1910, 1910 and 1920, 1960 and 1970, and 1970 and 1980. We cannot describe here in detail where two successive counts differentiate in major ways. (Note, however, the respective remarks attached to tables). Despite the frequent changes made to categories by the authorities, we feel it is still quite acceptable to present tables covering different trades over longer periods of time.

For certain occupations, primarily in the textile industry and its sub-parts, we can present newer estimates which reach as far back as to the first half of the 19th century, if not farther. At times those estimates disagree substantially. With respect to this it must first be taken into account that Gruner’s data only covers one part of the employed population, namely manufacturing workers. Second, one may safely assume the estimates of Dudzik and Siegenthaler to be generally better supported than those of Kneschaurek. Third, it must be considered that, for his own estimates, Ritzmann-Blickenstorfer did not use new sources, but merely compared the estimates of Gruner, Dudzik, Siegenthaler, and Kneschaurek against each other and with the results of the 1870 and 1880 census. (The latter estimates were performed in order to weight the trade salary indexes for the years 1821–1890).

The first official trade statistics divided by sectors and occupations for all of Switzerland covers the era of 1870–1960. The values for 1870 and 1880 are based on a retrospective table which we took from the 1900 census (Statistical Delivery No. 151). A comparison with data from the 1888 census enabled us to apply the newer category system also on the years 1870 and 1880. We found a second retrospective summary in a table volume of the 1960 census; from that statistic originate the values for 1888 up to and including 1960. We quote from the text accompanying that table: “In general, time series have been taken as far into the past as it was possible to put together comparable numbers. The compilation of comparable partial sets is complicated because the schema of trade classification [...] changed from census to census as older trades or occupations disappeared and their functions became themselves trades or merged into others. In retrospective summaries, such trades and occupations are generally assigned to those groups which they most belong to by their nature. Only a small number cannot be assigned conclusively, and they do not diminish the validity of the numbers.” (“Statistical Source Books of Switzerland” [Statistische Quellenwerke der Schweiz” / “Statistiques de la Suisse”], vol. 385).

In this spirit, we feel that the restatement of categories which we applied to the 1870 and 1880 occupation statistic categories does not represent a problem.

It was now tempting to also demonstrate the development in the cantons through a combination of the two mentioned retrospective tables. However, this was not advisable as those retrospective summaries, at the canton level, covered only the three main sectors plus a few of the major branches. In the industrial sector, especially, there is no differentiation into trades; we exclusively have data on the population employed in mining, “industry and trade,” construction, and energy at our disposal. The years 1860–1960 and 1888–1960, however, did not only bring the well known occupation migration from the first into the second and then third sector in most cantons, but there was a most significant structural change within the second sector. In order to demonstrate this change, it is necessary to know the number of people employed at different times in the main branches of the industrial sector, primarily the textile industry and its subbranches and in the metal and machine industry. For this reason we engaged in the very time-consuming attempt to reconstruct, based on the 1860 to 1960 census numbers for the employment structure in each individual canton, the numerical progression of employment in the major branches of the first, second, and third sector. Since the 1970 and 1980 census combine fulland part-time employees while the tallies in earlier counts only cover full-time occupation we chose not to extend the branch statistics for individual cantons beyond the era of 1860–1960. For all of Switzerland, however, we have retrospective tables at our disposal which originate from the census year 1980.

We acknowledge that there is room for refinement in four directions even in these detailed presentations: First, it would be desirable to have the proportion of male and female employees for each branch in each canton; second, it would be interesting to know about the number of Swiss versus foreign employees by branch, and by canton; third, there could be statistics of the families of those employed in the individual branches (including, again, a differentiation by gender and national origin); and, finally, fourth, the majority of the counts essentially offered the possibility to break down the number of employees and dependents for the more important branches also by district and cities. The counts of businesses, performed since 1905 in irregular intervals, though receiving only rudimentary treatment in this chapter, occasionally contain numbers which would permit such a breakdown.

All these projects still remain to be performed. In terms of scientific currency, their payoff would consist in a much more precise quantification and description than has been possible to date of the Swiss population’s individual stops on its journey to the modern service economy.

Employment of foreign nationals

The development of the employed foreign national population has achieved growing significance since approximately the mid 1950s and thus gained increasing attention from statisticians. Using two complementary sources, the “Handbook of Swiss Social Statistics 1932–1971” (“Handbuch der schweizerischen Sozialstatistik 1932–1971” / “Manuel de statistique sociale suisse 1932–1971”) published by the Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade, and Labor and the magazine “The Economy” (“Die Volkswirtschaft” / “La vie économique”) published by the Swiss Department of National Economy, we attempted to depict important structural changes, which could be observed in this universe between 1955 and 1991 in the form of time series. We were able to facilitate this by combining individual characteristics of the entire employed foreign population, such as immigration status, gender, national origin, and branch of employment. Those numbers are then shown either annually or for selected years.

Unemployment

Using data published in the Statistical Yearbook of Switzerland, the monthly number of those seeking full time employment, and their composition by branch, can be reconstructed back to the years 1917 and 1920, respectively. At the canton level, those statistics commence at the end of the 1920s, but full unemployment data is carried only since 1938. We divided these statistics into three parts, of which in the table section we show only the first, covering the Great Depression of the 1930s, and the last, pertaining to the 20-year period 1973–1992. For the period 1931–1938 our tables depict the monthly number of job seekers registered with the unemployment offices of the cantons and a few of the larger cities; and for the years 1973–1992 at the canton level, the annual number of job seekers, the number of fully and partially unemployed persons, and the number of job openings. The job market performance of the cantons, the crisis susceptibility of certain branches, and the development of overall unemployment during the Great Depression can be determined even more precisely by the inclusion of data collected by the major unemployment insurance institutions in those dramatic times. This data consists of monthly statistics that show the number of those insured and the degree to which a given insurance institution was taxed by the partial or full unemployment of its members, all strictly divided by public, “private one-sided”, and “private parity” type of institutions. We adopted those categories and processed the data printed in 1931 in the “Economic and Social Statistical Bulletin” (“Wirtschaftliche und sozialstatistische Mitteilungen” / “Rapports économiques et Statistique sociale”) and after 1932 in “The Economy” in a manner that allowed the formation of two summary indices populated with monthly values for the period 1931/32–1938, one showing the number of those insured with public and private carriers and the other the portion of those fully and partially unemployed for those same institutions.

Working Hours

Weekly working hours in industry were dealt with in the factory inquiry of 1895, but it was not until 1942 that the Federal Office for Industry, Trade, and Labor began publishing annual averages. Until 1968, these values were based on notifications by factories about paid weekly working hours; in the years 1973–1983 they had their basis in records of (individual) working hours of accident victims insured with the Swiss Accident Insurance Company (SUVA). Since 1984, the revised employment statistics provides the pertaining working hours.
In addition to the numbers published by the statistical offices, we also have the retrospective surveys performed under the National Fund project “Real salaries of Swiss industrial workers from 1890 to 1921” (“Reallöhne schweizerischer Industriearbeiter von 1890 bis 1921”). The participants in this project did not only analyze the printed factory statistics and reports of the federal factory inspectors, but also processed a series of registers, contemporary reports, and scientific studies of unions and workers’ conditions. Detailed data on branch-specific working hours was found in a reference book authored by Erich Gruner and Hans-Rudolf Wiedmer.

Show more (+)
The current chapter contains 44 table(s) between 1800 and 2009

F.0
Berufstätige nach Erwerbsklassen
F.1
Industriearbeiter und Erwerbstätige nach Sektoren und Hauptbranchen
F.2a
Berufstätige nach Erwerbsklassen
F.2b
Berufstätige nach Erwerbsklassen
F.7a
Wohnbevölkerung nach Erwerbszugehörigkeit und Geschlecht
F.7b
Wohnbevölkerung nach Erwerbszugehörigkeit und Geschlecht
F.8a
Landwirtschaftliche Bevölkerung
F.8b
Landwirtschaftliche Bevölkerung
F.9
Erwerbstätige und Angehörige
F.10
Berufstätige nach Erwerbsklassen und Kantonen
F.11a
Erwerbstätige nach Erwerbsklassen und Geschlecht (Zürich)
F.12
Erwerbstätige nach Erwerbsklassen, Geschlecht und Heimat (Zürich)
F.13
Betriebe und Beschäftigte nach Wirtschaftsklassen und Geschlecht
F.14a
Einreise- und Aufenthaltsbewilligungen an berufstätige AusländerInnen
F.14b
Aufenthaltsbewilligungen an berufstätige ausländische ArbeitnehmerInnen
F.14c
Aufenthaltsbewilligungen an berufstätige AusländerInnen nach Geschlecht
F.15a
Ausländische Wohnbevölkerung nach Heimatländern
F.15b
Ausländische Wohnbevölkerung nach Geschlecht und Zivilstand
F.15c
AusländerInnen mit Aufenthalts- und Niederlassungsbewilligung
F.16a
Erwerbstätige AusländerInnen nach Aufenthaltskategorien
F.16b
Ausländische Arbeitskräfte: Aufenthaltskategorien und Geschlecht
F.17a
Erwerbstätige Ausländer: Aufenthaltskategorien und Wirtschaftsklassen
F.17b
Erwerbstätige Ausländerinnen: Aufenthaltskategorien und Wirtschaftsklassen
F.17c
Erwerbstätige AusländerInnen: Aufenthaltskategorien und Wirtschaftsklassen
F.17d
Erwerbstätige AusländerInnen: Wirtschaftsklassen, Aufenthaltskategorien und Nationalität
F.17e
AusländerInnen nach Kantonen: Kontrollpflichtige Arbeitskräfte
F.17f
Erwerbstätige Ausländer nach Kantonen und Aufenthaltskategorien
F.18a
Stellensuchende und Arbeitslosenquote nach Geschlecht
F.19
Stellensuchende nach Wirtschaftsklassen
F.20a
Stellensuchende nach Kantonen
F.20b
Stellensuchende nach Städten
F.20c
Stellensuchende in Kantonen und Städten
F.21a
Öffentliche Arbeitslosenkassen: Mitgliederzahlen
F.21b
Andere Arbeitslosenkassen: Mitgliederzahlen
F.23a
Stellensuchende, offene Stellen und Stellenbesetzungen (Stadt Zürich)
F.23b
Zürich: Stellensuchende
F.24
Branchen des Zweiten und Dritten Sektors: Arbeitszeit
F.26a
Arbeitszeit in den Fabriken
F.29a
Erwerbstätige, Wochen-, Jahresarbeitszeit
F.29b
Tatsächliches Arbeitsvolumen
F.30
Vollzeitäquivalente nach Branchen und Sektoren
F.31
Erwerbstätige nach Kantonen
F.32
Betriebsübliche Arbeitszeit nach Wirtschaftsabteilungen
F.33
Vollzeitäquivalente in den Branchen des 2. und 3. Sektors

F

1800
2009

Beschäftigung

Erwerbstätige nach Branchen

Berufs- und Beschäftigungsstatistiken sind fester Bestandteil der eidgenössischen Volkszählungen seit 1860, und Daten zur Erwerbszugehörigkeit, d. h. zur Sozialstruktur der Beschäftigten und ihrer An- gehörigen, existieren seit der Zählung von 1888. Es ist jedoch unmöglich, auf Branchenebene homo- gene Langzeitreihen zu konstruieren, die von 1860 bis 1980 reichen. (Die Resultate der Volkszählung von 1990 waren noch nicht erhältlich, als dieses Kapitel abgeschlossen wurde). In Tat und Wahrheit unterscheidet sich jede einzelne Zählung in wesent- lichen Punkten von der jeweils vorhergehenden, was die Vergleichbarkeit zwischen den Zählungen enorm erschwert. Dazu kommt, dass die Qualität des Materials aus früheren Erhebungen sehr zu wünschen übrig lässt. Die Zählung von 1860 darf aus diesem Grund nur mit äusserster Vorsicht interpretiert werden, und bei derjenigen von 1870 sind zumindest starke Vorbehalte angebracht. Dies lässt sich nicht zuletzt dem einleitenden Kommentar zur Beschäftigungsstatistik von 1880 entnehmen, wo unter anderem darüber geklagt wird, dass man den Volkszählern von 1860 und 1870 zu viele Nebenaufgaben aufgebürdet hatte – 1860 war auch eine Zählung der Gewehre und 1870 eine solche der Betriebe angeordnet worden. Auch bei der Volkszählung von 1880 wurden «auf der Mehrheit der Bogen des ungeheuren Zählungsmaterials» gravierende Lücken und eine Fülle ungenauer Bezeichnungen festgestellt, so dass das Eidgenössische Departement des Innern im April 1881 den Entschluss fasste, «es seien die sämmtlichen Zählungsbogen, auf welchen sich solche Ungenauigkeiten und Lücken finden, durch Vermittlung der Kantonsregierungen den betreffenden Zählungsbeamten zur Vervollständigung zurückzusenden mit einer genauen Angabe des Fehlenden in jedem einzelnen Falle. Jedem Kanton wurde überdies eine Liste der zurückgesandten Bogen zugestellt, jedem Bogen eine Liste des auf demselben Fehlenden angeheftet; über alles zurückgesandte Material wurde genau Buch geführt; denn wenn nicht die drei Volkszählungsbände ungeschrieben bleiben sollten, so musste das Zählungsmaterial sicher wieder einlangen. Letzteres geschah auch wirklich; aber es waren lange nicht alle Lücken und Ungenauigkeiten beseitigt, zum Theil, weil die Zählungsbeamten über manche Personen den nöthigen Aufschluss nicht beibringen konnten.» (Statistische Lieferung Nr. 59: Volkszählung 1880, Bd. 3, S. III–XIV).
Klagen, die ihre Wirkung offenbar nicht verfehlt haben: Von der markanten Verbesserung der Qualität der Volkszählungsergebnisse zwischen 1880 und 1888 war auch die Beschäftigungsstatistik betroffen. Allerdings weisen auch die Erhebungen von 1888–1960 noch diverse Mängel auf. In der Einleitung zum dritten Volkszählungsband von 1888, der «die Unterscheidung der Bevölkerung nach dem Berufe» zum Gegenstand hat, wird dazu ausgeführt: «Die Darstellung der Berufsverhältnisse der Bevölkerung war bei den Fachmännern immer als der schwierigste und ihr Erzeugnis als der unvollkommenste Teil einer Volkszählung bekannt. Die von jeher bekannten Schwierigkeiten sind auch bei der hiesigen Arbeit zu Tage getreten und trotz aller darauf verwendeten Mühe nicht vollständig überwunden worden.

Diese Schwierigkeiten bestehen hauptsächlich darin, dass die Begriffe, um die es sich hier handelt, diejenigen von Beruf und Berufsthätigkeit im allgemeinen und vielfach auch diejenigen der einzelnen besonderen Berufe, nicht genau umschrieben und nicht scharf von ihrer Umgebung unterschieden werden können; dass diese Begriffe häufig von einem Grenzgebiete umgeben sind, zum Teil von einem recht grossen, dessen Zuteilung oder Nichtzuteilung zum fraglichen Begriffe als eine zweifelhafte erscheint. Daraus aber ergeben sich mit Notwendigkeit, schon für die Berufsangaben in den Zählpapieren und dann auch für deren statistische Zusammenstellung, Unsicherheiten und Ungleichheiten, welche die Vergleichbarkeit der gewonnenen Ergebnisse beeinträchtigen müssen oder selbst in Frage stellen können – und das nicht nur von Land zu Land, sondern selbst für die Zusammenstellungen des nämlichen Landes, wenn sie aus verschiedenen Zeiten, von verschiedenen Zählungen herstammen.»
Gleichwohl sah sich das Büro veranlasst, der Kritik einzelner Gemeindebehörden an der «Beschaffenheit und Brauchbarkeit der zu Stande gekommenen Angaben» energisch entgegenzutreten: «Die Erfahrungen, die das statistische Bureau bei der Zusammenstellung doch in eingehender Weise zu machen hatte, lassen die Berufsangaben der Zählpapiere ja keineswegs als vollkommene und fehlerfreie, aber im allgemeinen auch gar nicht als unbefriedigende bezeichnen; sie waren im allgemeinen besser und einer eingehenderen Bearbeitung fähig, als diejenigen irgend einer früheren Volkszählung. Was mit der diesmaligen Berufszählung bezweckt wurde und zum voraus erwartet werden durfte, das ist zum grossen Teile erreicht worden. Für die Zukunft wird es sich hauptsächlich darum handeln, dasselbe leichter, sicherer und so für alle daran Beteiligten müheloser zu gestalten.» (Statistische Lieferung Nr. 97: Volkszählung 1888, Bd. 3, S. 3*–11*).

Diesem differenzierten und ausgewogenen Urteil wird man sich auch heute noch ohne weiteres anschliessen können. Die im Schlusssatz des Zitates bekundete Absicht, zukünftige Erhebungen nicht bloss sicherer, sondern auch leichter zu gestalten, ignorierte freilich die Dynamik des Strukturwandels, dem das Erwerbsleben im späten 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhundert unterworfen war. Die Systematik der Wirtschaftsklassen, die der Erhebung von 1888 zugrunde lag, ist denn auch bereits anlässlich der Zählung von 1900 wieder fallengelassen und durch eine komplexere Version ersetzt worden. Dasselbe wiederholte sich bei den Zählungen von 1910 und 1920.

Aus der Retrospektive des ausgehenden 20. Jahrhunderts erscheinen uns am ehesten untereinander vergleichbar die Zählungen von 1870 und 1880 und diejenigen von 1920 bis 1960. Die wichtigsten Zäsuren in den Erhebungsmodi orten wir mithin zwischen 1880 und 1888, zwischen 1888 und 1900, zwischen 1900 und 1910, zwischen 1910 und 1920, zwischen 1960 und 1970 und zwischen 1970 und 1980. Es kann hier nicht im Detail dargelegt werden, wo zwei aufeinanderfolgende Erhebungen entscheidend voneinander abweichen. (Man achte aber im Tabellenteil auf entsprechende Anmerkungen). Jedenfalls halten wir es trotz der von amtlicher Seite laufend vorgenommenen Abänderungen bei der Kategorienbildung für vertretbar, nach Branchen differenzierende Tabellen auszuweisen, die längere Zeiträume abdecken. Für einzelne Beschäftigungszweige, insbesondere für die Textilindustrie und ihre Subbranchen, können wir mit neueren Schätzungen aufwarten, die bis in die erste Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts, wenn nicht sogar noch weiter zurück reichen. Mitunter weichen diese Schätzungen allerdings erheblich voneinander ab. Es ist dabei einerseits in Rechnung zu stellen, dass sich die Angaben Gruners nur auf einen Teil der erwerbstätigen Bevölkerung, nämlich die Industriearbeiterschaft, beziehen. Zweitens wird man davon ausgehen können, dass die Schätzungen Dudziks und Siegenthalers im allgemeinen besser abgestützt sind als diejenige von Kneschaurek. Drittens ist zu berücksichtigen, dass Ritzmann-Blickenstorfer für seine eigenen Schätzungen keine neuen Quellen verwertet hat, sondern bloss die Schätzungen von Gruner, Dudzik, Siegenthaler und Kneschaurek untereinander und mit den Ergebnissen der Volkszählungen von 1870 und 1880 verglichen hat. (Die letztgenannte Schätzung wurde vorgenommen, um die Branchenlohnindizes über die Jahre 1821–1890 gewichten zu können).

Eine erste gesamtschweizerische und nach Sektoren und Branchen gegliederte amtliche Erwerbsstatistik erstreckt sich über den Zeitraum 1870–1960. Die Werte für 1870 und 1880 basieren auf einer retrospektiven Tabelle, die wir der Volkszählung von 1900 entnommen haben (Statistische Lieferung Nr. 151). Der Vergleich mit den in der Volkszählung von 1888 gemachten Angaben erlaubte es uns, die spätere Kategoriensystematik auf die Jahre 1870 und 1880 zu übertragen. Auf eine zweite retrospektive Übersicht stiessen wir in einem Tabellenband der Volkszählung von 1960; dieser Statistik entstammen die Werte von 1888 bis und mit 1960. Wir zitieren aus dem Begleittext zu dieser Tabelle: «Im allgemeinen ist die zeitliche Entwicklung so weit zurückgeführt, als sich vergleichende Zahlen zusammenstellen liessen. Die Bildung vergleichbarer Teilmassen ist vor allem deshalb erschwert, als die Schemata für Erwerbszweige [...] von Zählung zu Zählung änderten, indem sich bisherige Erwerbs- oder Berufsarten auflösten und ihre Bestandteile verselbständigten oder mit anderen verschmolzen. In den rückblickenden Übersichten sind solche Erwerbs- oder Berufsarten im allgemeinen jenen Gruppen zugeordnet, welchen sie ihrem Schwergewicht nach zugehören. Die nicht restlos ausscheidbaren Teile weisen nur sehr kleine Bestände aus, der Aussagewert der Vergleichszahlen ist dadurch nicht geschmälert.» (Statistische Quellenwerke der Schweiz, Heft Nr. 385).
In diesem Sinne dürfen wohl auch die von uns vorgenommenen Kategorienumbildungen bei den Beschäftigungsstatistiken der Jahre 1870 und 1880 als unproblematisch bezeichnet werden.

An sich hätte es nun nahegelegen, auch die Entwicklung in den Kantonen durch Zusammenfügen der beiden erwähnten retrospektiven Tabellen abzubilden. Davon musste jedoch Abstand genommen werden, weil diese retrospektiven Übersichten auf Kantonsebene nur die drei Hauptsektoren und ein paar wenige Hauptbranchen umfassen. Insbesondere beim industriellen Sektor vermisst man eine Gliederung nach Einzelbranchen; vorhanden sind hier bloss Angaben über die erwerbstätige Bevölkerung im Bergbau, in «Industrie und Handwerk», in der Baubranche und im Energiewesen. Nun ist es aber in den meisten Kantonen im Zeitraum 1860–1960 bzw. 1888–1960 nicht nur zu der bekannten Verlagerung des Schwerpunktes der Erwerbstätigkeit vom Ersten in den Zweiten und Dritten Sektor gekommen, sondern es hat auch innerhalb des Zweiten Sektors ein höchst signifikanter Strukturwandel stattgefunden. Um diesen erfassen zu können, ist es unumgänglich, die Zahl der zu verschiedenen Zeitpunkten in den Hauptbranchen des industriellen Sektors – v. a. in der Textilindustrie und ihren Subbranchen sowie in der Metall- und Maschinenindustrie – beschäftigten Personen zu kennen. Aus diesem Grund haben wir den überaus zeitaufwendigen Versuch unternommen, gestützt auf die in den Volkszählungen von 1860 bis 1960 publizierten Angaben zur branchenweisen Erwerbsstruktur für jeden einzelnen Kanton die zahlenmässige Entwicklung der in den wichtigsten Branchen des Ersten, Zweiten und Dritten Sektors beschäftigten Personen zu rekonstruieren. Weil in den Zählungen von 1970 und 1980 hauptund teilzeitbeschäftigte Personen nur zusammen ausgewiesen sind, während sich die in den früheren Erhebungen gemachten Angaben ausschliesslich auf die Hauptbeschäftigung beziehen, haben wir darauf verzichtet, diese kantonale Branchenstatistik über den Zeitraum 1860–1960 hinaus zu verlängern. Auf gesamtschweizerischer Ebene konnte dagegen auf retrospektive Tabellen zurückgegriffen werden, die im Volkszählungsjahr 1980 ihren Ausgangspunkt haben.

Wir räumen ein, dass selbst diese detaillierten Darstellungen noch verfeinert werden könnten, und zwar in vier Richtungen: Erstens wäre es wünschenswert, wenn auf Kantonsebene für jede einzelne Branche jeweils die Quote der männlichen und weiblichen Erwerbstätigen angegeben wäre, zweitens würde man gerne auch über den Anteil schweizerischer und ausländischer Erwerbstätigen je Branche und Kanton Bescheid wissen, drittens könnte eine kantonsweise Statistik der Angehörigen der in den einzelnen Branchen erwerbstätigen Personen erstellt werden (wobei auch hier wieder eine Differenzierung nach Geschlecht und Heimat vorstellbar wäre) und viertens schliesslich hätte bei der Mehrzahl der Erhebungen im Prinzip die Möglichkeit bestanden, die Zahl der Erwerbstätigen und Angehörigen für die wichtigeren Branchen auch bezirksweise und nach Städten auszuweisen. Auch die seit 1905 in unregelmässigen Abständen durchgeführten Betriebszählungen, die in diesem Kapitel eine eher stiefmütterliche Behandlung erfahren, enthalten teilweise ein Zahlenmaterial, das eine diesbezügliche Auswertung zulassen würde.
All diese Arbeiten harren indessen nach wie vor ihrer Ausführung. In wissenschaftlicher Münze würde ihr Lohn darin bestehen, dass einzelne Stationen, welche die schweizerische Bevölkerung auf ihrem Weg in die moderne Dienstleistungsgesellschaft passiert hat, sehr viel präziser erfasst und umschrieben werden könnten, als dies bislang der Fall gewesen ist.

Erwerbstätige Ausländer

Die Entwicklung der erwerbstätigen ausländischen Bevölkerung hat etwa seit Mitte der 1950er Jahre wachsende statistische Signifikanz erlangt und damit auch zunehmend die Aufmerksamkeit der Statistiker auf sich gezogen. Anhand von zwei sich ergänzenden Quellen, dem vom Bundesamt für Industrie, Gewerbe und Arbeit veröffentlichten «Handbuch der schweizerischen Sozialstatistik 1932–1971» und der vom Schweizerischen Volkswirtschaftsdepartement herausgegebenen Zeitschrift «Die Volkswirtschaft», haben wir versucht, wichtige strukturelle Veränderungen, die sich bei dieser demographischen Grösse zwischen 1955 und 1991 beobachten lassen, in Form von Langzeitreihen abzubilden. Dies konnte dadurch erreicht werden, dass einzelne Merkmale des Gesamtbestandes im Erwerbsleben stehender Ausländer – Aufenthaltskategorien, Geschlecht, Nationalität und branchenmässige Zuordnung – miteinander kombiniert wurden. Wir weisen diese Zahlen teils jährlich, teils für ausgewählte Jahre aus.

Arbeitslosigkeit

Die monatliche Zahl der Vollzeitstellensuchenden und deren branchenmässige Zusammensetzung lässt sich anhand der im Statistischen Jahrbuch der Schweiz veröffentlichten Zahlen bis 1917 bzw. 1920 zurück rekonstruieren. Kantonsweise setzt diese Statistik Ende der 1920er Jahre ein; Angaben über die Ganzarbeitslosen enthält sie allerdings erst seit 1938. Wir haben sie gleichsam in drei Teile geteilt, von denen wir im Tabellenteil bloss den ersten, der die Grosse Depression der 1930er Jahre abdeckt, und den letzten, der den zwanzigjährigen Zeitraum 1973–1992 umfasst, ausweisen. Für die Periode 1931–1938 informieren unsere Tabellen über die monatliche Zahl der bei den Arbeitsämtern der Kantone und einiger grösserer Städte angemeldeten Stellensuchenden, für die Jahre 1973–1992 auf Kantonsebene über die jährliche Zahl der Stellensuchenden, der Ganzarbeitslosen, der Teilarbeitslosen und der offenen Stellen. Die Entwicklung der kantonalen Arbeitsmärkte bzw. die Krisenanfälligkeit bestimmter Branchen und der Verlauf der Gesamtarbeitslosigkeit während der Grossen Depression lassen sich noch etwas präziser fassen, wenn man die Daten beizieht, die in diesem dramatischen Zeitabschnitt von den grösseren Arbeitslosenkassen erhoben worden sind. Es handelt sich hierbei um Monatsstatistiken, die über den Bestand der Kassenmitglieder und das Ausmass, in dem eine bestimmte Kasse durch die Ganz- und Teilarbeitslosigkeit ihrer Mitglieder belastet wurde, orientieren, wobei jeweils streng zwischen öffentlichen, privaten einseitigen und privaten paritätischen Kassen unterschieden worden ist. Wir haben diese Kategorien übernommen und das 1931 in den «Wirtschaftlichen und Sozialstatistischen Mitteilungen» und ab 1932 in der «Volkswirtschaft» abgedruckte Zahlenmaterial in einer Weise ausgewertet, dass für den Zeitraum 1931/32–1938 zwei mit Monatswerten besetzte Gesamtindizes gebildet werden konnten, von denen der eine über die Entwicklung des Mitgliederbestandes der öffentlichen und der privaten Arbeitslosenkassen und der andere über den Anteil der ganz- und teil- arbeitslosen Mitglieder dieser Kassen unterrichtet.

Arbeitszeit

Mit der wöchentlich geleisteten Arbeitszeit in der Industrie hat sich bereits die Fabrikenquete von 1895 befasst. Jährliche Durchschnittswerte werden aber erst seit 1942 vom Bundesamt für Industrie, Gewerbe und Arbeit publiziert. Bis 1968 basieren diese Werte auf den Angaben der Fabriken über die bezahlte wöchentliche Arbeitszeit; in den Jahren 1973–1983 liegen ihnen die Angaben über die (individuellen) Arbeitszeiten verunfallter und bei der Schweizerischen Unfallversicherung (SUVA) versicherter Arbeitnehmer zugrunde. Seit 1984 gibt die revidierte Beschäftigungsstatistik die jeweils betriebsübliche Arbeitszeit an.

Neben den von den statistischen Ämtern veröffentlichten Zahlen verfügen wir aber auch noch über die im Rahmen des Nationalfondsprojekts «Reallöhne schweizerischer Industriearbeiter von 1890 bis 1921» durchgeführten retrospektiven Erhebungen. Die Mitarbeiter dieses Projekts haben nicht nur die gedruckt vorliegenden Fabrikstatistiken und Berichte der eidgenössischen Fabrikinspektoren analysiert, sondern auch eine Reihe von Verzeichnissen, zeitgenössischen Berichten und wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zu Gewerkschaften und Arbeitsverhältnissen ausgewertet. Detaillierte Angaben zur branchenspezifischen Arbeitszeit in den Stichjahren 1895, 1901 und 1911 fanden sich in einem von Erich Gruner und Hans-Rudolf Wiedmer verfassten Standardwerk.

Show more (+)
The current chapter contains 44 table(s) between 1800 and 2009