F.0
Employed Persons by Sector
F.1
Workforce by Sectors
F.2a
Workforce by Sectors
F.2b
Workforce by Sectors
F.7a
Population by Employment Classification and Gender
F.7b
Population by Employment Classification and Gender
F.8a
Agricultural Worker Population
F.8b
Agricultural Worker Population
F.9
Employees and Their Families
F.10
Employment by Sector, Branches and Cantons
F.11a
Employment by Sector, Branches and Gender (Zürich)
F.12
Employed Population by Sectors, Branches, Gender and Home (Zürich)
F.13
Companies and Employment by Sector, Class and Gender
F.14a
Entry and Residence Permits to Foreign Workers
F.14b
Residence Permits to Foreign Workers
F.14c
Residence Permits to Foreign Workers by Gender
F.15a
Foreign Resident Population by Country of Origin
F.15b
Foreign Resident Population by Gender and Martial Status
F.15c
Foreign Resident Population with Residence and Settlement Permits
F.16a
Foreign Workers by Categories of Residence
F.16b
Foreign Workers by Categories of Residence and Gender
F.17a
Male Foreign Workers by Categories of Residence and Sector
F.17b
Female Foreign Workers by Categories of Residence and Sector
F.17c
Foreign Workers by Categories of Residence and Sector
F.17d
Foreign Workers by Sector, Type of Residence Permit and Nationality
F.17e
Foreigners by Canton
F.17f
Foreign Workers by Canton and Type of Residence Permits
F.18a
Job Seekers and Unemployment Rate by gender, 1913-1995 (annual averages)
F.19
Job Seekers by Sector
F.20a
Job Seekers by Canton
F.20b
Job Seekers by City
F.20c
Job Seekers (Cities)
F.21a
Public Unemployment Insurance: Membership
F.21b
Other Unemployment Insurances: Membership
F.23a
Male and Female Job Seekers, Open Jobs and Placements ( Zurich)
F.23b
Job Seekers (Zürich)
F.24
Industries of the Second and Tertiary Sector: Working Hours
F.26a
Working Hours in Manufacturing Companies
F.29a
Employees, Weekly and Annual Worktime
F.29b
Actual Annual Work Volume
F.30
Full-time Equivalents by Industry and Sectors
F.31
Employment by Canton
F.32
Weekly Working Hours by Sector and Industry
F.33
Full-time Equivalents in Industry and Services

F

1800
2009

Occupation

Introduction

Labor force by trade

Trade and employment statistics have been an integral part of the Swiss census since 1860, and data relating to trade affiliation, i. e. the social structure of employees and their dependents, exists since the 1888 census. It is, however, impossible to compile homogenous time series at the line of business level covering the years 1860 to 1980. (The results of the 1990 census were not yet available at the time of completion of this chapter). In truth, each individual census significantly varies from its predecessor, which greatly increases the difficulty of comparisons between censuses. In addition, the quality of the data from earlier censuses leaves much to be desired. For this reason, the 1860 census should only be interpreted with utmost caution, and substantial reservations, at least, are in order for the 1870 census. This is already evident in the opening commentary to the 1880 employment statistics, which, among other observations, complains that the 1860 and 1870 census takers had been burdened with too many ancillary tasks – in 1860 they were ordered to perform a count of rifles and in 1870 one of businesses. The 1880 census, too, had serious omissions and a plethora of ambiguous descriptions “on the majority of the forms of this vast counting venture,” so that in April 1881 the Swiss Department of the Interior decided, “that return be arranged by the canton governments of all census forms containing such ambiguities and omissions to the appropriate census taker for the purpose of completion, with a detailed notice of the omitted in each case. In addition, each canton was provided a list of returned forms, with each form having a list of the omissions to its completion attached to it; there were detailed records of all returned materials, for unless the three census volumes remain unwritten, all proper census data had to be recovered and accounted for. This did indeed happen, though by far not all ambiguities and omissions had been resolved, partly because the census takers were unable to ascertain the required information from certain people.” (Statistical delivery [“Statistische Lieferung” / “Livraison statistique”] No. 59: 1880 Census, Vol. 3, p. III–XIV).

These complaints did not fail to have an impact: There was a substantial quality increase in general census results between 1880 and 1888 which applied to the employment statistics as well. However, the counts from 1888–1960 still fall short in several areas. This problem is addressed in the introduction to the third volume of the 1888 census, which covers the topic “population by trade” as follows: “Experts have long known the presentation of the population’ s employment condition as the most complex part of a census, and its results as the least complete. Those familiar and well known problems again surfaced in the current census and, despite all efforts, could not be completely overcome.
These problems mainly consist of the fact that the pertaining terminology describing occupation and occupational activities in general and often that of specific occupations, does not describe them precisely and with enough differentiation from similar areas; that many of those terms have border areas, often of substantial size, whose belonging to the term in question remains uncertain. This inevitably leads to ambiguity and uncertainty, starting with the recording of occupations on the census forms and their statistical compilation, which may impact the comparability of results or even put them in question altogether – and this applies not only to statistics from different countries, but even to compilations from a single country if the date originates from different times and different tallies.”

Nonetheless, the Office felt compelled to energetically counter the criticism of certain municipal governments on the “characteristics and usefulness of the figures arrived at”: “The experience gained by the Statistical Office during its comprehensive preparations did not indicate that occupation data on the forms would be complete and error-free by any means, but, in general, neither can this data be considered unsatisfactory; in general, it was better and better suited for detailed analysis than any data from any prior census. The goals of this census, and what had been expected from it, has been fulfilled for the most part. The primary task for the future will be to achieve the same in a simpler, more reliable manner, and thus one less cumbersome for all concerned.” (Statistical Delivery No. 97: 1888 Census, Vol. 3, p. 3*–11*).

Even today such a differentiated and well measured contemplation is surely quite supportable. But the resolution to design future tallies not only more simply but also more reliably, proclaimed in the closing sentence, ignored the dynamics of the structural changes which trades became subjected to in the late 19th and early 20th century. For the 1900 census, the Federal Statistical Office dropped the system of economic classification that the 1888 census was based on and replaced it with a more complex version. This happened again for the 1910 and 1920 census.
Viewed from the perspective of the late 20th century, the counts of 1870 and 1880 and those of 1920 to 1960 appear the most comparable among themselves. The most important changes in the counting methodologies occurred between 1880 and 1888, 1888 and 1900, 1900 and 1910, 1910 and 1920, 1960 and 1970, and 1970 and 1980. We cannot describe here in detail where two successive counts differentiate in major ways. (Note, however, the respective remarks attached to tables). Despite the frequent changes made to categories by the authorities, we feel it is still quite acceptable to present tables covering different trades over longer periods of time.

For certain occupations, primarily in the textile industry and its sub-parts, we can present newer estimates which reach as far back as to the first half of the 19th century, if not farther. At times those estimates disagree substantially. With respect to this it must first be taken into account that Gruner’s data only covers one part of the employed population, namely manufacturing workers. Second, one may safely assume the estimates of Dudzik and Siegenthaler to be generally better supported than those of Kneschaurek. Third, it must be considered that, for his own estimates, Ritzmann-Blickenstorfer did not use new sources, but merely compared the estimates of Gruner, Dudzik, Siegenthaler, and Kneschaurek against each other and with the results of the 1870 and 1880 census. (The latter estimates were performed in order to weight the trade salary indexes for the years 1821–1890).

The first official trade statistics divided by sectors and occupations for all of Switzerland covers the era of 1870–1960. The values for 1870 and 1880 are based on a retrospective table which we took from the 1900 census (Statistical Delivery No. 151). A comparison with data from the 1888 census enabled us to apply the newer category system also on the years 1870 and 1880. We found a second retrospective summary in a table volume of the 1960 census; from that statistic originate the values for 1888 up to and including 1960. We quote from the text accompanying that table: “In general, time series have been taken as far into the past as it was possible to put together comparable numbers. The compilation of comparable partial sets is complicated because the schema of trade classification [...] changed from census to census as older trades or occupations disappeared and their functions became themselves trades or merged into others. In retrospective summaries, such trades and occupations are generally assigned to those groups which they most belong to by their nature. Only a small number cannot be assigned conclusively, and they do not diminish the validity of the numbers.” (“Statistical Source Books of Switzerland” [Statistische Quellenwerke der Schweiz” / “Statistiques de la Suisse”], vol. 385).

In this spirit, we feel that the restatement of categories which we applied to the 1870 and 1880 occupation statistic categories does not represent a problem.

It was now tempting to also demonstrate the development in the cantons through a combination of the two mentioned retrospective tables. However, this was not advisable as those retrospective summaries, at the canton level, covered only the three main sectors plus a few of the major branches. In the industrial sector, especially, there is no differentiation into trades; we exclusively have data on the population employed in mining, “industry and trade,” construction, and energy at our disposal. The years 1860–1960 and 1888–1960, however, did not only bring the well known occupation migration from the first into the second and then third sector in most cantons, but there was a most significant structural change within the second sector. In order to demonstrate this change, it is necessary to know the number of people employed at different times in the main branches of the industrial sector, primarily the textile industry and its subbranches and in the metal and machine industry. For this reason we engaged in the very time-consuming attempt to reconstruct, based on the 1860 to 1960 census numbers for the employment structure in each individual canton, the numerical progression of employment in the major branches of the first, second, and third sector. Since the 1970 and 1980 census combine fulland part-time employees while the tallies in earlier counts only cover full-time occupation we chose not to extend the branch statistics for individual cantons beyond the era of 1860–1960. For all of Switzerland, however, we have retrospective tables at our disposal which originate from the census year 1980.

We acknowledge that there is room for refinement in four directions even in these detailed presentations: First, it would be desirable to have the proportion of male and female employees for each branch in each canton; second, it would be interesting to know about the number of Swiss versus foreign employees by branch, and by canton; third, there could be statistics of the families of those employed in the individual branches (including, again, a differentiation by gender and national origin); and, finally, fourth, the majority of the counts essentially offered the possibility to break down the number of employees and dependents for the more important branches also by district and cities. The counts of businesses, performed since 1905 in irregular intervals, though receiving only rudimentary treatment in this chapter, occasionally contain numbers which would permit such a breakdown.

All these projects still remain to be performed. In terms of scientific currency, their payoff would consist in a much more precise quantification and description than has been possible to date of the Swiss population’s individual stops on its journey to the modern service economy.

Employment of foreign nationals

The development of the employed foreign national population has achieved growing significance since approximately the mid 1950s and thus gained increasing attention from statisticians. Using two complementary sources, the “Handbook of Swiss Social Statistics 1932–1971” (“Handbuch der schweizerischen Sozialstatistik 1932–1971” / “Manuel de statistique sociale suisse 1932–1971”) published by the Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade, and Labor and the magazine “The Economy” (“Die Volkswirtschaft” / “La vie économique”) published by the Swiss Department of National Economy, we attempted to depict important structural changes, which could be observed in this universe between 1955 and 1991 in the form of time series. We were able to facilitate this by combining individual characteristics of the entire employed foreign population, such as immigration status, gender, national origin, and branch of employment. Those numbers are then shown either annually or for selected years.

Unemployment

Using data published in the Statistical Yearbook of Switzerland, the monthly number of those seeking full time employment, and their composition by branch, can be reconstructed back to the years 1917 and 1920, respectively. At the canton level, those statistics commence at the end of the 1920s, but full unemployment data is carried only since 1938. We divided these statistics into three parts, of which in the table section we show only the first, covering the Great Depression of the 1930s, and the last, pertaining to the 20-year period 1973–1992. For the period 1931–1938 our tables depict the monthly number of job seekers registered with the unemployment offices of the cantons and a few of the larger cities; and for the years 1973–1992 at the canton level, the annual number of job seekers, the number of fully and partially unemployed persons, and the number of job openings. The job market performance of the cantons, the crisis susceptibility of certain branches, and the development of overall unemployment during the Great Depression can be determined even more precisely by the inclusion of data collected by the major unemployment insurance institutions in those dramatic times. This data consists of monthly statistics that show the number of those insured and the degree to which a given insurance institution was taxed by the partial or full unemployment of its members, all strictly divided by public, “private one-sided”, and “private parity” type of institutions. We adopted those categories and processed the data printed in 1931 in the “Economic and Social Statistical Bulletin” (“Wirtschaftliche und sozialstatistische Mitteilungen” / “Rapports économiques et Statistique sociale”) and after 1932 in “The Economy” in a manner that allowed the formation of two summary indices populated with monthly values for the period 1931/32–1938, one showing the number of those insured with public and private carriers and the other the portion of those fully and partially unemployed for those same institutions.

Working Hours

Weekly working hours in industry were dealt with in the factory inquiry of 1895, but it was not until 1942 that the Federal Office for Industry, Trade, and Labor began publishing annual averages. Until 1968, these values were based on notifications by factories about paid weekly working hours; in the years 1973–1983 they had their basis in records of (individual) working hours of accident victims insured with the Swiss Accident Insurance Company (SUVA). Since 1984, the revised employment statistics provides the pertaining working hours.
In addition to the numbers published by the statistical offices, we also have the retrospective surveys performed under the National Fund project “Real salaries of Swiss industrial workers from 1890 to 1921” (“Reallöhne schweizerischer Industriearbeiter von 1890 bis 1921”). The participants in this project did not only analyze the printed factory statistics and reports of the federal factory inspectors, but also processed a series of registers, contemporary reports, and scientific studies of unions and workers’ conditions. Detailed data on branch-specific working hours was found in a reference book authored by Erich Gruner and Hans-Rudolf Wiedmer.

Show more (+)
The current chapter contains 44 table(s) between 1800 and 2009

F.0
Population active par secteur
F.1
Population active par secteur
F.2a
Population active par secteur
F.2b
Population active par secteur
F.7a
Population par statut professionnel et genre
F.7b
Population par statut professionnel et genre
F.8a
Population agricole
F.8b
Population agricole
F.9
Population active et membres de la famille
F.10
Population active par secteur
F.11a
Personnes actives par secteur et genre (Zurich)
F.12
Personnes actives par secteur, genre et origine (Zurich)
F.13
Exploitations et personnes occupées par secteur
F.14a
Autorisation d'entrée et permis de séjour des étranger-ère-s actif-ves
F.14b
Permis de séjour des étranger-ère-s actif-ve-s
F.14c
Permis de séjour des étranger-ère-s actif-ve-s par genre
F.15a
Population résidante étrangère par pays d'origine
F.15b
Population résidante étrangère par genre et état civil
F.15c
Etranger-ère-s au bénéfice d'un permis de séjour et d'établissement
F.16a
Etranger-ère-s actif-ve-s par catégorie de séjour
F.16b
Etranger-ère-s actif-ve-s: catégories de séjour et genre
F.17a
Etrangers actifs: catégories de séjour et secteur
F.17b
Etrangères actives: catégories de séjour et secteur
F.17c
Etranger-ère-s actif-ve-s: catégories de séjour et secteur
F.17d
Etranger-ère-s actif-ve-s: catégories de séjour, secteur et nationalité
F.17e
Etranger-ère-s par canton: actif-ve-s soumis-e-s au contrôle
F.17f
Etrange-ère-s actif-ve-s par cantons et catégories de séjour
F.18a
Personnes en recherche d'emploi et taux de chômage par genre
F.19
Demandeur-euse-s d'emploi par secteur
F.20a
Demandeur-euse-s d'emploi par canton
F.20b
Demandeur-euse-s d'emploi par ville
F.20c
Demandeur-euse-s d'emploi (villes)
F.21a
Caisses publiques de chômage: membres
F.21b
Autres caisses de chômage: membres
F.23a
Demandeur-euse-s d'emploi, emplois vacants et recrutement
F.23b
Demandeur-euse-s d'emploi (Zurich)
F.24
Branches du secondaire et tertiaire: heures de travail
F.26a
Temps de travail dans les fabriques
F.29a
Population active, temps de travail hebdomadaire et annuel
F.29b
Volume annuel de travail effectif
F.30
Equivalent plein-temps par branche et secteur
F.31
Population active par canton
F.32
Durée normale du travail par secteur
F.33
Equivalent plein-temps par branche du 2ème et 3ème secteur

F

1800
2009

Emploi

Introduction

Personnes actives occupées par branche

Les données sur les professions et l’emploi font partie intégrante des recensements fédéraux de la population depuis 1860; quant aux données socio- professionnelles, elles sont relevées depuis 1888. Il est toutefois impossible d’établir des séries homogènes par branche pour toute la période de 1860 à 1980. (Lors de la rédaction de ce chapitre, les résultats du recensement de la population de 1990 n’étaient pas encore disponibles). Chacun de ces recensements diffère en effet du précédent sur des points essentiels, ce qui rend la comparaison très difficile. En outre, la qualité des données des recensements d’autrefois laisse beaucoup à désirer. De ce fait, il faut faire preuve d’une extrème prudence en interprétant les données de 1860; de sérieuses réserves s’imposent également pour celles de 1870. Cela ressort notamment de l’introduction de la statistique de l’emploi de 1880, qui déplore le fait que les responsables des recensements de la population de 1860 et de 1870 aient été chargés de trop de tâches accessoires (en 1860, il avait en effet fallu dénombrer aussi les fusils et en 1870 les établissements industriels). En 1880, «la plus grande partie des feuilles de recensement contenaient des lacunes et des défectuosités». En avril 1881, le Département fédéral de l’intérieur a donc décidé «que tous les états de recensement dans lesquels se trouveraient des lacunes et des erreurs seraient retournés par l’entremise des gouvernements cantonaux, avec une spécification exacte des rectifications à apporter, aux agents de recensement pour être complétés. On transmit à chaque canton une liste des feuilles retournées, et l’on joignit à chaque feuille une énumération des inscriptions à corriger ou à compléter. Le bureau de statistique dressa un état exact de tous les matériaux renvoyés, qui devaient nécessairement rentrer au complet, si l’on ne voulait pas que la publication du recensement fût mise en question. Ils rentrèrent tous en effet; par contre, une partie des irrégularités signalées n’avait pas été rectifiée, le plus souvent parce que les agents de recensement n’avaient pu se procurer les renseignements nécessaires». (Livraison statistique No 59: Recensement fédéral de 1880, troisième volume, pages III à XIV).

De toute évidence, ces plaintes ont eu un certain effet: la statistique de l’emploi a profité, elle aussi, de l’amélioration qualitative frappante qu’ont connue les résultats du recensement de la population entre 1880 et 1888. Précisons que les recensements de 1888 à 1960 continuaient néanmoins à présenter quelques défauts. L’introduction du troisième volume des résultats du recensement fédéral de 1888, intitulé «La population d’après les professions», commente la situation en ces termes: «Les démographes sont unanimes à reconnaître que le classement des habitants d’après la profession est des plus difficiles et que les résultats qu’on obtient doivent compter parmi les moins satisfaisants dans le dépouillement d’un recensement. Nous avons éprouvé à notre tour les difficultés d’un travail de ce genre, et, malgré la meilleure volonté et les soins les plus assidus apportés à l’exécution de notre tâche, nous ne nous flattons pas de les avoir complètement surmontées.

Ces difficultés consistent essentiellement en ce que l’étendue qu’il faut attribuer au terme de profession et d’activité professionnelle, en général, n’est pas exactement déterminée. Il en est le plus souvent de même des professions en particulier, insuffisamment délimitées, de telle sorte que le domaine de l’une empiétant sur le domaine de l’autre ou réciproquement, il en résulte parfois une incertitude inévitable dans le classement d’un individu selon sa profession. Dès lors surgissent nécessairement des doutes et des inégalités, tout d’abord dans la désignation de la profession sur le bulletin de recensement, puis dans le dépouillement du bureau de statistique. Ces incertitudes et ces inégalités portent atteinte à la comparabilité des résultats acquis, ou même peuvent la mettre en question, et cela non seulement pour la comparaison de pays à pays, mais même pour les données d’un seul pays, lorsqu’elles se rapportent à des époques et des recensements différents.» Le Bureau s’est néanmoins vu contraint de s’opposer énergiquement aux quelques autorités communales critiquant «l’insuffisance des données professionnelles». Voici ses commentaires: «Le bureau de statistique, pendant ses travaux de dépouillement, s’est convaincu que si les indications professionnelles des bulletins de recensement ne sont exemptes ni de lacunes ni d’imperfections, cependant on ne peut pas dire qu’en général elles ne soient pas utilisables. Elles se sont prêtées d’une manière plus heureuse à des compilations que celles des recensements antérieurs. Nous avons à peu près atteint, on peut le dire, le but que nous nous sommes proposé. Il s’agira évidemment de rendre le futur dénombrement plus facile, plus précis et moins compliqué pour tous les intéressés.» (Livraison statistique No 97: Recensement fédéral de 1888, vol. 3, p. 3* à 11*).

Cet avis pondéré et différencié reste certainement valable même de nos jours. Evidemment, le Bureau ne pouvait savoir, en exprimant ses intentions dans la dernière phrase, à quel point les changements structurels de la vie active allaient être profonds, à la fin du 19e siècle et au début du 20e. La nomenclature des activités économiques qui avait servi de base au recensement de 1888 a été remplacée en 1900 déjà par une version plus complexe, et cette évolution s’est répétée en 1910 et en 1920.

En analysant les recensements rétrospectivement, à la fin du 20e siècle, nous découvrons la comparabilité la plus grande entre celui de 1870 et celui de 1880, ainsi qu’entre ceux de 1920 à 1960. Cela revient à dire que les changements les plus importants du mode de relevé se situent entre 1880 et 1888, entre 1888 et 1900, entre 1900 et 1910, entre 1910 et 1920, entre 1960 et 1970 et entre 1970 et 1980. Dans cet ouvrage, nous ne pouvons présenter en détail les différences fondamentales entre deux recensements consécutifs (nous signalons toutefois aux lecteurs que les notes des tableaux les mettent parfois en évidence). Mais la présentation de tableaux ventilés par branches et portant sur des périodes relativement longues nous paraît acceptable en dépit des changements officiels du contenu des catégories qui se sont succédé.

Pour quelques domaines, en particulier pour l’industrie textile et les branches qui la composent, nous pouvons présenter des estimations relativement récentes qui remontent à la première moitié du 19e siècle ou plus loin encore. Sur certains points, ces estimations divergent toutefois considérablement. Il convient de dire à ce propos que les données de Gruner ne concernent qu’une partie de la population active occupée, à savoir les ouvriers de l’industrie. Par ailleurs, on peut partir de l’idée que les estimations de Dudzik et de Siegenthaler sont généralement mieux étayées que celles de Kneschaurek. Enfin, il faut tenir compte du fait que Ritzmann-Blickenstorfer a établi ses propres estimations sans recourir à de nouvelles sources: il a simplement comparé entre elles celles de Gruner, de Dudzik, de Siegenthaler et de Kneschaurek, puis il les a comparées avec les résultats des recensements de la population de 1870 et de 1880. (La dernière estimation devait permettre la pondération des indices des salaires par branche des années 1821 à 1890.)

La première statistique nationale officielle de l’emploi, ventilée selon les secteurs et les branches, porte sur la période allant de 1870 à 1960. Les données de 1870 et de 1880 proviennent d’un tableau rétrospectif fourni lors du recensement de 1900 (Livraison statistique No 151). La comparaison avec les informations du recensement de 1888 nous a permis d’appliquer la nomenclature établie par la suite également aux années 1870 et 1880. Dans un recueil de tableaux du recensement de la population de 1960, nous avons trouvé un autre tableau rétrospectif; c’est de cette statistique que nous avons tiré les données de 1888 à 1960. L’ouvrage précité commente ce tableau en ces termes: «D’une manière générale, l’évolution chronologique a été suivie dans toute la mesure où il était possible de reconstituer des chiffres comparables. L’établissement de masses homogènes est rendu difficile par le fait que la liste des branches économiques [...] a changé d’un recensement à l’autre, les anciennes rubriques perdant chaque fois certains éléments qui ont, soit constitué de nouveaux groupes, soit été transférés sous un autre titre. Dans les tableaux rétrospectifs, ces branches économiques et ces professions sont généralement classées dans le groupe auquel leur caractère dominant les rattache. Les parties qui ne purent être exactement dégagées représentent des effectifs minimes; aussi ne restreignent-elles guère la valeur documentaire des comparaisons.» (Statistiques de la Suisse, 385e fascicule).

Sur cette base, notre remaniement des catégories des statistiques de l’emploi de 1870 et de 1880 ne devrait poser aucun problème. Il aurait été tentant de retracer l’évolution aussi au niveau cantonal, grâce à une combinaison des deux tableaux rétrospectifs précités. Mais ce n’était pas possible, les tableaux n’indiquant pour les cantons que les trois secteurs économiques et un petit nombre de branches. On aurait eu besoin d’une ventilation détaillée en particulier pour le secondaire, mais il n’est question que des personnes travaillant dans l’industrie extractive, dans l’industrie et l’artisanat, dans le bâtiment et dans le secteur énergétique. Or, nous savons que dans la plupart des cantons, le secteur primaire a perdu, entre 1860 et 1960 ou entre 1888 et 1960, une partie de son importance au profit du secondaire et du tertiaire. En outre, un changement structurel très important s’est produit au sein du secondaire. Pour le retracer, il faut absolument connaître l’effectif du personnel des branches principales du secondaire (notamment celui de l’industrie textile et de ses composantes et celui de la métallurgie et de l’industrie des machines) à différentes périodes. Pour cette raison, nous avons essayé de reconstituer, pour chacun des cantons, à partir des données sur la structure socio-économique publiées après les recensements de la population de 1860 à 1960, le nombre des personnes travaillant dans les branches les plus importantes du primaire, du secondaire et du tertiaire; ce travail nous a évidemment pris énormément de temps. Comme les résultats de 1970 et de 1980 indiquent globalement les personnes travaillant à plein temps et les personnes travaillant à temps partiel, alors que ceux des recensements précédents ne se rapportaient qu’à l’activité principale, nous avons renoncé à prolonger cette statistique cantonale par branche au-delà de 1960. A l’échelon suisse, par contre, nous avons pu utiliser des tableaux rétrospectifs partant de 1980.

Nous sommes conscients du fait que même ces présentations détaillées pourraient être encore affinées, dans quatre domaines. Premièrement, il serait souhaitable de connaître, au plan cantonal, la répartition par sexe du personnel de chacune des branches; deuxièmement, une ventilation selon l’origine (Suisses et étrangers) paraîtrait utile; troisièmement, on pourrait établir une statistique des familles des personnes occupées (toujours par canton et par branche, éventuellement ventilée aussi selon le sexe et l’origine); enfin, la plupart des relevés auraient permis d’indiquer le nombre des personnes dans les principales branches, ainsi que celui des membres de leur famille, par district et par ville. Ajoutons que bien qu’il en ait été peu question dans ce chapitre, les recensements des entreprises, réalisés à intervalles irréguliers depuis 1905, fournissent souvent aussi des données que l’on pourrait exploiter à ces fins.

Tous ces travaux restent à faire. Ils permettraient (et ce serait là leur mérite scientifique) de retracer et de décrire de manière beaucoup plus précise qu’on n’a pu le faire jusqu’à présent les étapes que la population suisse a parcourues sur le chemin de la tertiarisation.

Les étrangers actifs occupés

Vers le milieu des années 1950 environ, la progression de la main-d’œuvre étrangère s’est intensifiée au point d’attirer de plus en plus l’attention des statisticiens. A l’aide de deux sources qui se complètent, à savoir le «Manuel de statistique sociale suisse» de 1932 à 1971, publié par l’Office fédéral de l’industrie, des arts et métiers et du travail, et la revue «La Vie économique», publiée par le Département fédéral de l’économie publique, nous avons essayé de représenter, sous forme de séries chronologiques longues, les principaux changements structurels observés dans ce domaine entre 1955 et 1991. A cette fin, nous avons combiné certains caractéristiques des étrangers travaillant en Suisse (sexe, nationalité, type d’autorisation de séjour et branche). Nous avons indiqué une partie de ces données par année et les autres pour un choix d’années.

Le chômage

Grâce à l’Annuaire statistique de la Suisse, on peut retracer le nombre des personnes cherchant un emploi à plein temps et leur répartition par branches jusqu’en 1917, voire 1920, par mois. A l’échelon cantonal, cette statistique est établie depuis la fin des années 1920, mais elle ne fournit des informations sur les chômeurs complets que depuis 1938. Nous avons divisé la statistique en trois périodes. Nos tableaux ne concernent que la première, celle de la dépression des années trente, et la dernière, qui va de 1973 à 1992. Ils indiquent, pour les années 1931 à 1938, par mois, le nombre des personnes en quête d’emploi, inscrites auprès des offices du travail des cantons et de quelques-unes des plus grandes villes. Pour les années 1973 à 1992, ils indiquent, par canton et par année, le nombre des personnes en quête d’emploi, celui des chômeurs complets, celui des chômeurs partiels et celui des postes vacants. L’évolution des marchés de l’emploi cantonaux, les branches particulièrement sensibles aux crises et la progression du chômage complet pendant la dépression des années 30 peuvent être décrits de manière un peu plus précise si l’on consulte en outre les données relevées, au cours de cette époque dramatique, par les principales caisses-chômage. Il s’agit de statistiques mensuelles indiquant l’effectif des membres et dans quelle mesure le chômage (complet ou partiel) de ces derniers a touché les différentes caisses. Ces statistiques font la distinction entre les caisses publiques et les caisses privées (unilatérales et paritaires). Nous avons repris ces catégories. Sur la base des données fournies en 1931 dans la revue «Rapports économiques et Statistique sociale» et à partir de 1932 dans «La Vie économique», nous avons élaboré, pour la période 1931/32 à 1938, deux indices généraux mensuels dont l’un retrace l’évolution de l’effectif des membres des caisses précitées et l’autre indique la proportion de chômeurs (complets et partiels) relevée parmi ces membres.

La durée du travail

La durée hebdomadaire du travail dans l’industrie avait déjà été relevée lors de l’enquête sur les usines de 1895. Mais ce n’est que depuis 1942 que l’Office fédéral de l’industrie, des arts et métiers et du travail publie des moyennes annuelles. Jusqu’en 1968, ces données se fondaient sur les informations fournies par les usines sur le nombre d’heures qu’elles payaient par semaine. Les données de 1973 à 1983 proviennent des informations sur les horaires (individuels) des travailleurs accidentés, assurés auprès de la Caisse nationale suisse d’assurance en cas d’accidents (CNA). Depuis 1984, la statistique révisée de l’emploi indique la durée usuelle du travail dans les entreprises.
Nous possédons, en plus des données publiées par les offices de statistique, les résultats des enquêtes rétrospectives effectuées dans le cadre du projet du Fonds national portant sur les salaires réels des ouvriers de l’industrie suisse de 1890 à 1921 (“Reallöhne schweizerischer Industriearbeiter von 1890 bis 1921”). Les personnes qui ont collaboré à ce projet ont analysé non seulement les statistiques publiées sur les usines et les rapports des inspecteurs fédéraux des fabriques, mais aussi une série de relevés, de rapports datant de cette époque et d’études scientifiques sur les syndicats et les conditions de travail. Erich Gruner et Hans-Rudolf Wiedmer ont fourni, dans un ouvrage qui fait autorité, des informations détaillées sur la durée du travail par branche en 1895, en 1901 et en 1911.

Show more (+)
The current chapter contains 44 table(s) between 1800 and 2009