C.1
Average Residential Population by Canton
C.2
Marriage, Birth and Death by Month
C.3
Marriage, Birth and Death by Canton
C.4
Marriage, Birth and Death
C.5a
Marriage, Birth and Death
C.5b
Marriage, Birth and Death by Gender
C.5c
Marriage, Birth and Death by Nationality
C.6
Marriages by Cantons
C.8a
Men and Women who Marry by Age Group
C.8b
Men and Women who Marry by Marital Status
C.8c
Men and Women who Marry by Religion
C.8d
Marriages between Swiss and Foreign Men and Women
C.9
Divorces by Canton
C.10
Annulments and Divorces
C.11
Divorces by Origin, Number of Children and Length of Marriage
C.12
Increase and Decrease of Marriages
C.13
Legitimations of Children
C.14
Recognition of Children
C.15
Adoptions by Country of Origin of the Adoptee
C.16
Number of Births by Canton
C.18
Live Births by Canton
C.20
Stillborn Births by Canton
C.21
Extramarital Birth by Canton
C.22
Stillborn Births by Canton
C.23
Extramarital Birth by Canton
C.24a
Fertility Indexes by Canton
C.24b
Fertility Indexes by Canton
C.24c
Fertility Indices by Canton
C.25
Birth Sequence of Marital Live Births by Canton
C.26
Total Deaths by Canton
C.28
Deaths by Age Group (ZH)
C.29
Deaths by Age Group (BE)
C.30
Deaths by Age Group (SO)
C.31
Deaths by Age Group (BS)
C.32
Deaths by Age Group (AR)
C.33
Deaths by Age Group (AG)
C.34
Deaths by Age Group (TI)
C.35
Deaths by Age Group (VD)
C.36
Deaths by Age Group (NE)
C.37a
Deaths by Age Group (City-State of Geneva)
C.37b
Deaths by Age Group (GE)
C.38
Total Deaths by Age Group
C.39
Male Deaths by Age Group
C.40
Female Deaths by Age Group
C.41
Total Deaths by Age Group
C.42
Deaths in First Month and First Year of Life
C.43
Deaths in First Year of Life by Month
C.44
Male Deaths in First Year of Life
C.45
Deaths in First Year of Life by Canton
C.46
Number of Births Exceeding Deaths by Canton
C.48a
Average Residential Population (10 Cities)
C.48b
Number of Births Exceeding Deaths (10 Cities)
C.48c
Marriages (10 Cities)
C.48d
Divorces (10 Cities)
C.48e
Live Births (10 Cities)
C.48f
Stillborn Births (10 Cities)
C.48g
Extramarital Births (10 Cities)
C.48h
Birth Sequence of Marital Live Births (10 Cities)
C.48i
Deaths (10 Cities)
C.48j
Deaths in First Year of Life (10 Cities)
C.48k
Marriage, Birth and Death (10 Cities)
C.49
Birth and Death (Zürich)

C

1735
2006

Marriage, Birth, and Death

This chapter is extraordinarily voluminous since there is a multitude of estimates the evaluation of which seemed possible and desirable, some reaching back into the 18th century.

Standardized canton level surveys of marriages, births, and deaths began in the year 1867. The Federal Statistical Office, founded in 1860, was responsible for the handling and publication of the initially incomplete surveys. The results were included in the so-called Statistical Deliveries (“Statistische Lieferungen” / “Livraisons statistiques”) and published under the title “The Movements of the Population in the Year ...”. Today, this series is simply called “Population Movements in Switzerland” and is published by the Federal Statistical Office. Since 1876, this statistic also informs of divorces and causes of death at the canton level (also see the elaborations in the table part of the “Diseases and Causes of Death”). Format and content of the tables changed several times over the decades; and the Office appeared to struggle particularly with the proper presentation of deaths by age class at the canton level. Wherever possible, we attempted to fill the gaps caused by those frequent presentational changes. To this end, we used further statistical source books, on the one hand the Swiss Statistical Year Book and on the other the three large special publications issued between 1895 and 1928 by the Federal Statistical Office under the title of “Marriage, Birth, and Death” (“Ehe, Geburt und Tod” / “Mariages, naissances et décès”). The first of these massive volumes, which was preceded by a smaller publication on population movements in the years 1867–1871, informs on the development of marriages, births, and deaths in the era of 1871–1890. It consists of three separate studies, each of which has its own addendum. In those supplements, the Office added whatever it had available on marriages, births, and deaths for the time between 1801 and 1870. We depended almost exclusively on this data when constructing our own national statistical series, with the sole exception of additional materials for the cantons of Zurich and Appenzell Innerrhoden, which had not been considered by the Federal Statistical Office.

The second volume of “Marriage, Birth, and Death” provides information about population movements in the years 1891–1900, with certain series extended backwards to 1876, and at times even to 1871. The third volume, finally, covers the era of 1901–1920. Among others, we used it to learn about population movements in ten large and medium cities between the turn of the century and the beginning of the time between the world wars.

The abovementioned Federal Statistical Office reviews of “Marriage, Birth, and Death” of the years 1871–1890, 1891–1900, and 1901–1920 – which included volumes 103, 112, 128, 158, 170, 192, and 1928/4 of the series – were also incorporated into the “Statistical Deliveries” (later “Statistical Bulletins”, then “Statistical Sources”, and finally “Statistical Results”).

Estimates

Our method of projecting federal level developments based on individual series at the canton level can be summarized as follows:


  1. In general, we began by establishing the end point of a given series of estimates. For a particular period of time for which there was data available for all cantons, we determined the portion of cantons whose governments had already performed surveys in the prior time period. We generally set the length of a time period to four years, with some exceptions where it is three or five years. We then computed the contribution for the cantons in question for each of the four years; the four quotients could not be spaced too far apart. Where this condition was not fulfilled, we did not include prior years in our estimates.
  2. The average of those four years was then applied to the previous period for which there was data only for part of the cantons. For that period we summed up the values of the available canton series and divided it by the average fraction which those cantons constituted of the total for all of Switzerland in the following four years.
  3. We divided the first four values of the national series of estimates arrived at by this method by the sum of the values of those cantons where data was available to us for the following time period as well. Again, we then determined the average value of those four quotients. By applying the resulting average quotient to the prior time period, we were able to extend the series of estimates backwards yet again. We repeated this procedure until we computed the starting point of the series of estimates. The following tables show the range of the statistics for each canton.

It should be emphasized that our estimates of stillborns and illegitimate childbirth is limited to the official figures. During the period of restoration, the number of unreported cases of stillborns as well as of illegitimate childbirth was probably much higher than in the later decades. It is therefore certain that both series of estimates do not accurately indicate the portion of stillborns and illegitimate births until approximately the middle of the century.
Processing of Canton Series into National Estimates, by Period

[INSERT TABLES]

For the years 1869 and 1870, the statistics contained the national total of deceased men and women; for the years 1867 and 1868, the total had to be estimated. In order to do so, we first determined the total of deceased men and of all deaths for the 21 cantons in question. We then related the two sums and applied the value of the quotient (deceased males divided by all deaths in the 21 cantons) to the national level by multiplying the number of all deaths, available in the statistics for the years 1867 and 1868, with the value of the quotient. We used the same method to estimate the total of all male deaths in Switzerland for those two years. In order to determine the total number of female deaths, we only had to subtract the number of male deaths from the total of all deaths. Our further procedure can be explained without the need to differentiate between years: after the number of male deaths in each age category had been determined for the 21 and 22–24 cantons, respectively, each male age group was assigned a proportional value, the quotient of total male deaths and male deaths in the respective age group. The next step consisted of multiplying these quotients by the number of all male deaths in Switzerland (which, for the years 1867 and 1868, is an estimated value). The same process was used for female deaths. The addition of these two series yielded our estimate of all deaths by age group for the years 1867–1870.

Show more (+)
The current chapter contains 62 table(s) between 1735 and 2006

C.1
Population résidante par canton
C.2
Mariages, naissances et décès par mois
C.3
Mariages, naissances et décès par canton
C.4
Mariages, naissances et décès
C.5a
Mariages, naissances et décès
C.5b
Mariages, naissances et décès par genre
C.5c
Mariages, naissances et décès par origine
C.6
Mariages par canton
C.8a
Marié-e-s par classe d'âge
C.8b
Marié-e-s: état civil des fiancés
C.8c
Marié-e-s: confession
C.8d
Mariages Suisse-sse-s/Etranger-ère-s
C.9
Divorces par canton
C.10
Divorces et annulations de mariage
C.11
Divorces par origine, nombre d'enfants et durée du mariage
C.12
Accroissement et diminution des mariages
C.13
Légitimations d'enfants
C.14
Reconnaissances d'enfants
C.15
Adoptions selon le pays d'origine
C.16
Nombre d'enfants nés par canton
C.18
Enfants nés vivants par canton
C.20
Mort-nés par canton
C.21
Enfants illégitimes par canton
C.22
Mort-nés par canton
C.23
Enfants illégitimes par canton
C.24a
Natalité par canton
C.24b
Fécondité par canton
C.24c
Indices de fécondité par canton
C.25
Ordre de naissance des enfants par canton
C.26
Nombre total des décès par canton
C.28
Décès par classe d'âge (ZH)
C.29
Décès par classe d'âge (BE)
C.30
Décès par classe d'âge (SO)
C.31
Décès par classe d'âge (BS)
C.32
Décès par classe d'âge (AR)
C.33
Décès par classe d'âge (AG)
C.34
Décès par classe d'âge (TG)
C.35
Décès par classe d'âge (VD)
C.36
Décès par classe d'âge (NE)
C.37a
Décès par classe d'âge (Genève-Ville)
C.37b
Décès par classe d'âge (GE)
C.38
Décès par classe d'âge: total
C.39
Décès masculins par classe d'âge
C.40
Décès féminins par classe d'âge
C.41
Décès par classe d'âge: total
C.42
Enfants décédés avant une année et avant un mois
C.43
Enfants décédés avant une année
C.44
Garçons décédés avant une année
C.45
Enfants décédés avant une année par canton
C.46
Excédent des naissances par canton
C.48a
Population résidante moyenne (10 villes)
C.48b
Excédent de naissances (10 villes)
C.48c
Mariages (10 villes)
C.48d
Divorces (10 villes)
C.48e
Enfants nés vivants (10 villes)
C.48f
Mort-nés (10 villes)
C.48g
Naissances illégitimes (10 villes)
C.48h
Ordre de naissance (10 villes)
C.48i
Décès (10 villes)
C.48j
Enfants décédés avant un an (10 villes)
C.48k
Mariages, naissances et décès (10 villes)
C.49
Naissances et décès (Zurich)

C

1735
2006

Mariages, naissances et décès

Ce chapitre est exceptionnellement long, car il existe un grand nombre de statistiques (remontant partiellement au 18e siècle) dont l’exploitation nous a paru possible et souhaitable.

En 1867, on s’est mis à harmoniser les relevés cantonaux des mariages, des naissances et des décès. C’est le Bureau fédéral de statistique, fondé en 1860, qui était chargé de traiter ces statistiques, qui présentaient encore des lacunes à l’époque. Les résultats ont été intégrés aux soi-disant livraisons statistiques et publiés chaque année, dans un fascicule intitulé «Mouvement de la population de la Suisse pendant l’année ...». Cette série existe toujours, sous le titre «Mouvement de la population en Suisse»; l’office qui la publie a également changé de nom: il se nomme maintenant «Office fédéral de la statistique». Depuis 1876, cette statistique informe aussi sur la divortialité et les causes de décès, au plan cantonal (voir les commentaires sur les tableaux du chapitre «Maladies et causes des décès»). Au fil des ans, la forme et le contenu des tableaux ont changé plusieurs fois. Le Bureau a eu notamment beaucoup de peine à trouver une formule pour la présentation des décès par groupe d’âges et par canton. Nous nous sommes efforcés de combler les lacunes causées par ces changements en recourant à d’autres sources, à savoir l’Annuaire statistique de la Suisse et les trois publications que le Bureau fédéral de statistique a fait paraître entre 1895 et 1928, sous le titre «Mariages, naissances et décès». Le premier de ces trois gros volumes (qu’une publication moins volumineuse consacrée au mouvement de la population devant la période 1867–1871 avait précédés) présente l’évolution des mariages, des naissances et des décès de 1871 à 1890. Il s’agit en fait de trois études distinctes. Chacune d’entre elles est accompagnée d’une annexe. Dans ces suppléments, le Bureau a publié toutes les données cantonales qu’il possédait sur les mariages, les naissances et les décès survenus entre 1801 et 1870. En élaborant nos estimations pour l’ensemble de la Suisse, nous nous sommes fondés presque exclusivement sur ces données; nous n’avons trouvé des informations dont le Bureau n’avait pas tenu compte que pour les cantons de Zurich et d’Appenzell Rhodes-Intérieures.

Le deuxième volume de «Mariages, naissances et décès» fournit des informations sur le mouvement de la population de 1891 à 1900; certaines séries commencent toutefois en 1876, voire en 1871. Le troisième volume, enfin, porte sur la période de 1901 à 1920. Nous l’avons consulté notamment pour pouvoir retracer le mouvement de la population du début du siècle à la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale dans dix villes grandes ou moyennes.

Les études précitées du Bureau fédéral de statistique sur les mariages, les naissances et les décès de 1871 à 1890, de 1891 à 1900 et de 1901 à 1920 ont été reprises dans les «Livraisons statistiques» (intitulées par la suite «Bulletin de la statistique suisse», puis «Statistiques de la Suisse» et enfin «Données statistiques»). Il s’agit des volumes 103, 112, 128, 158, 170, 192 et 1928/4 de cette série.

Les estimations

Nous avons déterminé l’évolution nationale à partir de séries cantonales de la manière suivante:


  1. D’une manière générale, nous avons déterminé d’abord le point le plus rapproché pour remonter ensuite dans le passé. Nous avons calculé, pour une période où nous disposions de données pour l’ensemble des cantons, la part des cantons dont les autorités avaient déja fait des relevés au cours des années précédentes. Nous avons fixé la durée de la période à quatre ans (ou, exceptionnellement, à trois ou à cinq ans). Nous avons déterminé la part des cantons en question pour chacune des quatre années. Il importait qu’il n’y ait pas d’écarts trop importants entre les quatre quotients; lorsque cette condition n’était pas remplie, nous n’avons pas tenu compte, dans nos estimations, des années antérieures.
  2. Nous avons ensuite reporté la moyenne des quatre ans sur la période précédente, pour laquelle nous ne disposions de données que pour une partie des cantons. Nous avons calculé la somme des séries cantonales existantes pour cette période, somme que nous avons divisée ensuite par la part moyenne que ces cantons représentaient dans le total suisse au cours des quatre années suivantes.
  3. Nous avons divisé les quatre premières valeurs ainsi obtenues de la série d’estimations nationales par la somme des valeurs des cantons qui avaient également fourni des données pour la période suivante. Là encore, nous avons pris la moyenne des quatre quotients. En reportant celle-ci sur la période antérieure, nous avons pu prolonger nos estimations dans le temps. Nous avons répété ce procédé jusqu’à ce que nous arrivions au terme de notre série. Les tableaux ci-dessous montrent jusqu’où vont les statistiques des différents cantons.

Il convient de préciser ici que le nombre estimé des mort-nés et des naissances d’enfants illégitimes ne concerne que les cas enregistrés officiellement. Les chiffres non déclarés étaient sans doute beaucoup plus élevés à l’époque de la Restauration qu’au cours des décennies suivantes, tant pour les mort-nés que pour les enfants illégitimes. Il est donc certain que nos deux séries d’estimations ne retracent l’évolution à peu près correctement qu’à partir du milieu du siècle.

Utilisation de séries cantonales pour les estimations nationales, par période


[INSERER TABLEAUX]

Pour les années 1869 et 1870, la statistique indiquait le total suisse des décès, par sexe; pour 1867 et 1868, en revanche, il a fallu procéder à une estimation. A cette fin, nous avons établi d’abord, pour les 21 cantons en question, la somme des hommes décédés et celle des décès. Puis nous avons divisé le total des hommes décédés par celui des décès et nous avons étendu la valeur du quotient ainsi obtenu à toute la Suisse en le multipliant par le total des décès enregistrés en Suisse, que la statistique indique également pour 1867 et 1868. De cette manière, nous avons estimé le total des hommes décédés en Suisse au cours des deux années précitées. Pour obtenir celui des femmes décédées, il suffisait alors de déduire le total des hommes décédés du total des décès. La suite du procédé est pareille quelle que soit l’année. Après avoir déterminé le nombre d’hommes décédés par groupe d’âges dans les 21 et 22–24 cantons, nous avons calculé la part de chacun de ces groupes en divisant le total des hommes décédés par celui des hommes décédés dans le groupe en question. Ensuite nous avons multiplié ces parts par le nombre des hommes décédés dans tout le pays (rappelons qu’il s’agit d’estimations en ce qui concerne 1867 et 1868). Nous avons procédé exactement de la même manière pour les femmes décédées. Finalement, nous avons additionné nos deux estimations pour obtenir notre ventilation par groupe d’âges des décès survenus en Suisse au cours des années 1867 a 1870.

Show more (+)
The current chapter contains 62 table(s) between 1735 and 2006